After a gruelling week of work at San Ramon and red-eye flights, it was time to wind down with some wood-fired pizza and St. Pauli Girl and … BB King videos.

This one is not by B.B King but I think this is one of the finest versions of his tour de force “When love comes to town”. I think I like this even more than the U2 version from Rattle & Hum

And then there’s this one that always brings tears to my eyes. Just a few days after I came to Vermont, BB King was playing at the Flynn Theater. The tickets were not inexpensive (taking into account that I had not earned my first paycheck yet in the US), I decided to go. I knew BB would not be there for long. What a concert it was ! Esp. when you see the entire audience eating out of his hands on a lullaby. I lost the iPhone recordings from that concert, but I found another version on the web with BB & the amazingly humble Susan/Derek Tedeschi-Trucks duo.

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy when skies are grey
You’ll never know dear, how much I love you
Please don’t take my B.B. King Away

<Thanks Susan Tedeschi>

Leave a Reply

