They don’t make it like those days of old

Today morning I met Dr. Parviz Ansari, who is the Dean of Mathematics and Biosciences at Rowan University. Dr. Ansari, who insisted I call him Parviz, is a passionate but soft-spoken gentleman – and he introduced me to Rowan University in New Jersey – their strengths, curriculum and a desire for academia-industry partnership. A few hours spent in interesting discussions from collaboration opportunities to the crisis in the Middle East (Dr. Ansari is of Iranian origin). After he left, I was looking up the web to find out more about the university, which obviously nowadays culminate in a Wikipedia article. Scrolling down, I noticed a list of notable alumni, nah, not any one I knew.

But then, wait ! It said :

Patti Smith – American musician, singer, and poet, member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Now that was a name which sounded familiar ! In an instant, I went back many years into my adolescence, the years of growing up with MTV and it brought back fond memories of a memorable song by Patti Smith and Glen Frey – Sometimes love’s just ain’t enough.

 

Now that I am almost done with filing my travel expenses (1:24 am), I have been listening to this song over and over again. An outstandingly crafted black-and-white silhouetted video, a beautiful pop ballad with a punchy bridge – the works. Watch out where Glen Frey makes his intro at “I may have hurt you, but I did not desert you”. Patti Smith is her usual phenom self – what a powerful voice !

What stood in great contrast was the banner underneath this song asking me to “click here” for Justin Bieber ft. Nicki Minaj.

It almost feels like an era gone by. They don’t do it like this anymore, do they ?

Leave a Reply

