Reading time

The last few weeks have been good on reading, esp. thanks to my new Kindle. I subscribed to PCMag, but was unfortunately not very happy at the quality of articles. Or it could be that I am missing the lushness of holding a glossy computer magazine and smelling the ads. Well, most of them would turn out things that I would not buy or could not afford, but just the self-propelled hallucination of a living inside the cells of Lotus 1-2-3 is quite unbeatable.

I am not sure what it was actually but I cancelled my PCMag subscribe.Image

But I do have quite a few other goodies on my Kindle to read. My staple now, as I take the morning bus to work is “In The Plex” by Stephen Levy. It’s about Google; very well-written. A beautiful insight into why the company apparently flouts most norms of organisationla culture and behaviour and still remains a poster child of commercial success. The stories are beaugtifully told and the author does a brilliant job of switching the narrator subtly at times. Stories such as what happened when a Google engineer, Amit Patel, walked into the CEO’s (Eric Schmidt’s) cabin and demanded to share space — ah ! A must, invigorating read.

 

Here’s a couple of other books on my Kindle. For the philosophical moments (yes, I do tend to have a lot !), there’s Rabindranath Tagore. Gitanjali, for which he won the Nobel Prize, and “The Gardener”.

 

The tame bird was in a cage, the free bird was in the forest.
They met when the time came, it was a decree of fate.
The free bird cries, “O my love, let us fly to the wood.”
The cage bird whispers, “Come hither. let us both live in the cage.”
Says the free bird, “Among bars, where is there room to spread ones’s wings?”
“Alas,” cries the cage brid, “I should not know where to sit perched in the sky.”

 

There are paper books that keep company, too. Right now, I am in the middle of at least two journeys.

Image

G. Gaynor McTigues book no 400 Ways to Stop Stress is a good attempt to list out many things that induce stress in our lives. Some of them are really nice, some of them are average. I do not like the way the author ends each tip with the line, “Why make yourself crazy?”, but in a world of surmounting odds, its good to have a book like this that you can use to create a counter-acting force.

ImageI have just started with “Learning Python”. My first feeling is that the book is a bit too basic for me; but then it does not hurt to go throw a language details in a systematic way although it may be some additional (and boring) effort upfront. If the foundation is strong, I will be able to build a stronger edifice upon it.

Leave a Reply

