By A Stone Bridge

 The night I needed your love
Most
You shed a silver teardrop for me
Bathed me in pity

Alone in this city,
Broken-knee soldier
I cried to be held
For once, in your arms

You, mere friend,
Run to the bazaar
Fastest foot in town
Buy me the strongest crutch
Dark sheesham brown 
“Here, take these
I will have you in my prayers”

“Have me in your blossoms, beautiful”
I implored in silence
As you kept your distance
Antiseptic and careful

 

Tonight as the water
Lashes gently the stone bridge wall
Bent o’er these lonely railings
I contemplate Fall

Leave a Reply

